

Journal of Alloys and Compounds 303-304 (2000) xi



www.elsevier.com/locate/jallcom

Foreword

The Twenty-second Rare Earth Research Conference was held July 10–15, 1999 at Argonne National Laboratory in Argonne, Illinois, USA. These conferences are held every three years and are devoted to the science and technology of the rare earth elements. The first Rare Earth Research Conference (RERC) was held at Lake Arrowhead, California in 1960, and since that time they have been held on a regular basis in various locations within the US and Canada. The 22nd RERC was attended by nearly 180 scientists representing 24 countries.

The conference is sponsored by the nonprofit Rare Earth Research Conferences, Inc. The 22nd Conference was also supported by Argonne National Laboratory, Arris International Corporation, Bracco Research USA, and the Petroleum Research Fund – American Chemical Society. Thanks are due to these organizations, without whose financial assistance the conference would not have been possible. One of the highlights of the RERC is the presentation of the Frank H. Spedding Award to an outstanding scientist. This year's award was presented to Professor M. Brian Maple, University of California, San Diego. This award is generously sponsored by Rhodia Rare Earths, LaRochelle, France.

The success of any scientific conference of this type depends on the efforts of large numbers of individuals, from those involved in its organization to those who participate in the presentation of papers and posters. Special appreciation should go to the following:

Proceedings Editorial Board

Lester R. Morss, Proceedings Editor-in-Chief John Greedan Michael F. Reid Herbert B. Silber

Session Chairs

Gin-ya Adachi Jean-Claude Bunzli Paul Canfield George Crabtree Ken Czerwinski Martha Greenblatt Bernard Jacquier Mercouri Kanatzidis Gerry Lander Andreis Meijerink Heino Nitsche Joe Takats Mike Tweedle

International Organizing Committee

G. Adachi, Japan

J.-K. Krupa, France

G.K. Liu, USA

P. Maestro, France

M.B. Maple, USA

L. Niinisto, Finland

R. Saez-Puche, Spain

U. Staub, Switzerland

L.C. Thompson, USA

Local Organizing Committee - Argonne National Laboratory

Mark Antonio James Beitz Kenneth Nash Suntharalingam Skanthakumar Stephen Wasserman Clayton Williams

The Program Chair, Susan Kauzlarich, put together the excellent program and her efforts are greatly appreciated as are those of Patrick Maestro, Larry C. Thompson, and the other members of the Frank H. Spedding Award Committee.

No conference can succeed without the assistance of a competent staff. At Argonne, Kay Foreman served as administrator, editor, secretary, and local arrangements coordinator, and also assisted the Program Chair on many issues.

Lynda Soderholm (General Conference Chair)